Jacksonville Sports Day

CWS PREVIEW: FSU, UF, Miami, Georgia Advance to Post Season

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State learned its postseason draw Monday afternoon, earning the three-seed in the Athens, Ga., regional. The Seminoles will play two-seed Florida Atlantic Friday at 12 p.m. Host Georgia, the No. 4 national seed, plays four-seed Mercer Friday at 7 p.m.

The Seminoles have reached the postseason 42 consecutive seasons, by far the longest active streak in college baseball. Cal State Fullerton had played in 27 straight postseasons before missing this year; the second-longest active streak is Vanderbilt with 13.

Head coach Mike Martin also wraps his 40-year career without missing the postseason.

Florida State and FAU last met in 1998 and the Noles lead the all-time series 8-1. FSU and Mercer played earlier this season, a three-game sweep by the Noles in Tallahassee. Georgia and FSU last played in 2015, when the Seminoles traveled to Foley Field. All-time, FSU is 39-27 against the Bulldogs.

Georgia Earns No. 4 National Seed

For the fifth time in school history, the University of Georgia has earned a national seed for the NCAA Baseball Championship as the Bulldogs garnered a No. 4 seed for its regional May 31-June 3 at Foley Field. The seventh-ranked Bulldogs (44-15) will be playing host to Florida Atlantic (40-19), Florida State (36-21) and Mercer (35-27) in a four-team regional.

On Friday, Florida Atlantic will face Florida State at Noon (ESPN3) followed by Georgia against Mercer at 7 p.m. (SEC Network). On Saturday, the losers meet in the afternoon game, and then the winners square off in the evening contest (Times TBA per television). Regional play is double-elimination. The winner of the Athens Regional will face the winner of the Baton Rouge Regional June 7-10. LSU is the No. 13 national seed with a 37-24 record and playing host to Arizona State (37-17), Southern Miss (38-19) and Stony Brook (31-28).In Super Regional action, eight sites play host to a best-of-three game series with the winners earning one of eight spots to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb. (June 15-26).

The Bulldogs (44-15) will be making their 12thoverall appearance in an NCAA Regional including their sixth as a regional host at Foley Field. The Bulldogs have won four of five previous regionals in Athens, advancing in 2001, 2004, 2006 and 2008. This marks the second year in a row that the Bulldogs will serve as a regional host and a national seed. Georgia was a No. 6 national seed in 2001, a No. 7 national seed in 2006 and a No. 8 national seed in 2008 and again in 2018. The No. 4 national seed this year is the highest in school history.

Georgia returns to the NCAA Tournament in back-to-back years for the first time since 2008-09. Georgia’s Ike Cousins head baseball coach Scott Stricklin has led the Bulldogs to a 44-15 overall record and the second best mark in SEC games at 21-9.

“Last year, we were wondering if we were going to be a top eight (national seed), thinking we’re right on the bubble, and this year we knew we were going to be a top eight national seed,” said Stricklin. “Actually, they kind of spoiled it early, sending it out that we were a top four seed, and the only question was going to be if we were the number three or four. We’re excited and know there’s a lot of Georgia kids on the rosters of Mercer and Florida State, and it’s going to be a really tough regional with them and Florida Atlantic. Mercer is a tough draw for the first game; they’re playing really well and just won their conference tournament. It’s going to be a big challenge.”

Gators Heading to 2019 Lubbock Regional

The University of Florida baseball team learned on Monday afternoon that it was awarded the No. 3 seed at the Lubbock (Texas) Regional for the 2019 NCAA Baseball Tournament that begins on Friday. The Gators are making their 35th Regional appearance and 12th in a row under head coach Kevin O’Sullivan, the longest postseason streak in school history. UF is 115-76 (.602) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS 12 times, including each of the past four seasons.

The third-seeded Gators (33-24) will face second-seeded Dallas Baptist (41-18) Friday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN3. Top-seeded and No. 8 overall national seed Texas Tech (39-17) will meet fourth-seeded Army (35-24) earlier in the day at 4 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday, if necessary. The Lubbock Regional winner will face the winner of the Oklahoma City Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Canes Baseball Earns NCAA Tournament Berth

The Miami Hurricanes earned a berth in the 2019 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship Monday, marking the program’s 46th trip to the postseason. With their selection to the Starkville Regional, the Canes return to the postseason for the first time since 2016. Miami will also play outside of the state of Florida in the regional round for the first time since 2013, when they were the No. 2 seed in the Louisville Regional.

Second-seeded Miami (39-18) will join host and first-seeded Mississippi St. (46-13), third-seeded Central Michigan (46-12) and fourth-seeded Southern (32-22) for the first round of the postseason. The Hurricanes own an all-time NCAA Regional record of 126-46 (.733). Miami’s all-time mark in the NCAA postseason stands at an impressive 192-99 (.660).

Miami is 3-1 all-time against Mississippi State, last taking two games from the Bulldogs during the 2005 Coral Gables Regional. The Hurricanes have never played against Central Michigan or Southern University.

The Hurricanes, who have had a consistent presence in the top 25 for the last seven weeks, finished the regular season 19-6 over their final 25 games. Miami went 1-1 as the No. 4 seed at the ACC Baseball Championship this week, beating No. 9 seed Virginia, 10-3, and falling to No. 5 seed North Carolina in 11 innings, 7-5.

NCAA Regionals, which will consist of four-team double-elimination tournaments at 16 campus sites, will get underway Friday (May 31) and run through Monday (June 3), as necessary. The eight regional winners will advance to Super Regional play, again at campus sites, June 7-10.

Those eight winners will then move on to the College World Series, which begins play Saturday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *