Jacksonville Sports Day

The Players Championship 2019 Tournament Notes

Photo Courtesy PGA TOUR/Chris Condon

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla –– For the first time since 2006, The Players is being played in March.

The field boasts 11 past winners including Tiger Woods (2001, 2013), Adam Scott (2004), Phil Mickelson (2007), Sergio Garcia (2008), Henrik Stenson (2009), Matt Kuchar (2012), Martin Kaymer (2014), Rickie Fowler (2015), Jason Day (2016), Si Woo Kim (2017) and Webb Simpson (2018).

There are 21 first-time participants including Abraham Ancer, Lucas Bjerregaard, Bronson Burgoon, Cameron Champ, Corey Conners, Joel Dahmen, Tyler Duncan, Talor Gooch, Sungjae Im, Adam Long, Denny McCarthy, Eddie Pepperell, J.T. Poston, Seamus Power, Andrew Putnam, Sam Ryder, Sam Saunders, Martin Trainer, Peter Uihlein, Matt Wallace and Aaron Wise.

It’s the 20th event in the 2018-19 FedExCup season 11 of the 12 winners of the tourney in the FedExCup era have advanced to the season-ending PGA Tour Championship: Mickelson (2007), Sergio Garcia (2008), Tim Clark (2010), K.J. Choi (2011), Matt Kuchar (2012), Tiger Woods (2013), Martin Kaymer (2014), Rickie Fowler (2015), Jason Day (2016), Si Woo Kim (2017) and Webb Simpson (2018). No Players champion has ever gone on to win the FedExCup in the same season

Woods is making his 19th start in the event, has wins at TPC Sawgrass both in March (2001) and May (2013); with a win in 2019, he would tie Jack Nicklaus for most victories in the tournament’s history. (3)

Rory McIlroy has top-10s in each of his last five starts after a T6 at last week’s Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard; McIlroy is looking to join Henrik Stenson and Woods as the only players to win The Players, the FedExCup, a major and a World Golf Championships event

Phil Mickelson will make his 26th start, which he won in 2007; he collected his 44th career tour win at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am in February. FedExCup leader Xander Schauffele will make just his second start at TPC Sawgrass; in his tournament debut in 2018, he finished T2 after a final-round 67

Nine-time PGA Tour winner Justin Thomas has less than two months remaining to join Woods, Jordan Spieth and Jack Nicklaus as one of the four youngest players in PGA Tour history to reach 10 career wins; Woods holds the record (23 years, 6 months, 4 days), while Nicklaus is the third-youngest to reach 10 wins (24 years, 3 months, 12 days); Thomas, who will be 25 years, 10 months, 18 days on Sunday could pass McIlroy who was 25 years, 11 months, 29 day win he crossed the 10-win threshold.

World No. 1 Dustin Johnson will make his first tour start since winning the World Golf Championships-Mexico Championship by five shots; his best finish in 10 starts came in 2017 (T12)

Brooks Koepka tied the course record in 2018 with a final-round 9-under 63, highlighted by an albatross on the par-5 16th, en route to a T11, his best showing in four appearances.

Vijay Singh, who played in the final pairing Sunday at The Honda Classic, is in the field via his win at the Bridgestone Senior Players Championship. Adam Scott has the most birdies on No. 17 since 2003 with 15 (Martin Kaymer and Sergio Garcia are T2 with 13)

Aaron Baddeley has hit 13 balls in the water at No. 17, the most by a player since 2003 (Bob Tway and Mickelson are T2 with nine) Kyle Stanley birdied No. 17 all four rounds during 2017, one of only two players to do so; the other was Paul Azinger in 1987.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *