Jacksonville Sports Day

HOF: Georgia’s Bailey Voted into NFL Shrine; Boselli Doesn’t Make Cut

CANTON, OHIO – “Selection Saturday” resulted in eight “Heroes of the Game” earning election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Hall’s 48-person selection committee held its annual meeting today in Atlanta to elect the Class of 2019.

The new class of enshrinees was announced at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special.

The newest members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame include cornerback Champ Bailey, contributor Pat Bowlen, contributor Gil Brandt, tight end Tony Gonzalez, cornerback Ty Law, center Kevin Mawae, safety Ed Reed, and safety Johnny Robinson.

The annual selection meeting capped a year-round selection process. The newly elected Hall of Famers were chosen from a list o​f 18 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee. Representatives of the accounting firm Deloitte & Touche tabulated all votes during Saturday’s meeting.

The first order of business for the Selection Committee was to discuss and debate the merits of the Seniors Finalist, Robinson.

He was required to receive at least an 80 percent positive vote to earn election. Next, the careers of Bowlen and Brandt, this year’s Contributors Finalists, were reviewed. Like all other Finalists, the Contributors Finalists needed a minimum 80 percent positive vote to be elected.

The Selection Committee then presented and reviewed the 15 Modern-Era Finalists that included two cut downs in the process. The first cut of finalists was from 15 to 10.

The five eliminated from consideration at that point were Isaac Bruce, Don Coryell, Tom Flores, John Lynch and Richard Seymour. The final 10 finalists were reduced to five. Removed at that point were Steve Atwater, Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson and Edgerrin James.

The five remaining finalists – Bailey, Gonzalez, Law, Mawae and Reed – were then voted on individually and all five received the necessary 80 percent positive vote from the Selection Committee to be elected.

The Hall of Fame’s membership, including the newly elected Class of 2019, now stands at 326.

The Class of 2019 will be officially enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame during the spectacular Enshrinement Ceremony held inside Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019. The Enshrinement Ceremony is the main event of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *