Jacksonville Sports Day

GOLF: The 16th annual Flagler Fall Slam starts on Monday

ST. AUGUSTINE – The 16th edition of the Flagler Fall Slam starts tomorrow (Oct. 22) with the first round of the 36-hole tournament. The 18-team field will tee off at 8 a.m. at the Marsh Creek Country Club (par 72; 6,062 yards).

Half of the field will tee off on the first hole while the other half will start on No. 10. The final round will be played Tuesday at 8 a.m.

The field boasts two nationally-ranked teams (Golfstat Relative Ranking) – No. 11 Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) and No. 14 Limestone College (Gaffney, S.C.). The only team in the field to have won a Flagler Fall Slam trophy is the host school, Flagler College (2014).

There are 17 played in Division II who are ranked in the Golfstat rankings as individuals. Pauline Tainton of Flagler is ranked No. 13 and her teammate, Kim Jakobs, is ranked No. 77. Lee boasts three ranked players – Haverly Harrold (No. 35), Carson McKie (No. 107), and Annika Gino (No. 140). Limestone also has three players in the rankings – Pilar Martinez (No. 33), Reme Cortes (No. 72), and Ebba Hellman (No. 117).

There two nationally-ranked junior college programs in No. 1 Seminole State College of Florida and No. 9 Eastern Florida State College.

All five Seminole State players are ranked nationally, including top-ranked Worapitcha Anudit. Eastern Florida State has all four of its entries ranked, including No. 4 Kacey Walker.

The complete field of teams are: Catawba College, Columbus State University, Eastern Florida State College, Eckerd College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Fla.), Flagler College, Lander University, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Lee University, Limestone College, the University of Montevallo, the University of Mount Olive, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Queens University of Charlotte, St. Edward’s University, Seminole State College, UNC Pembroke, and Wingate University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *