Jacksonville Sports Day

Toledo’s Neukam, Jacksonville’s Ohrablo Co-recipients of ECHL Executive of the Year Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced that Toledo Walleye General Manager Neil Neukam and Jacksonville Icemen President Bob Ohrablo have been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as co-recipients of the 2017-18 ECHL Executive of the Year award.

Under Neukam’s guidance, Toledo set an ECHL record with over 69,000 group tickets sold during the 2017-18 season while also setting team records for sellouts (28), total attendance (273,613) and average attendance (7,600), which was second in the league. The Walleye saw a growth of 11 percent in season-ticket sales over the 2016-17 season as the team reached the 50-win mark on the ice for the second consecutive season.

In addition to serving as the Walleye’s General Manager and Executive Vice President, Neukam is also in his 26th season with the Toledo Mud Hens Baseball Club, where he spent 17 seasons as Assistant General Manager focusing on corporate partnerships. Neukam is a member of the ECHL Marketing Committee and ECHL Media Committee to assist with League Programs and overall growth of the League.

Ohrablo helped bring professional hockey back to Jacksonville for the first time since 2008, investing a year of time into developing relationships with the Mayor and area leaders well in advance of launching the team in the market. The Icemen ranked second in the ECHL in group ticket sales in their inaugural season and created a non-profit of the night program that was sold for 32 of 36 games. Ohrablo also was instrumental in creating the Jacksonville Icemen Foundation, which raised more than $61,000 while making more than 100 community appearances.

Ohrablo has more than 30 years of experience in the pro sports and entertainment business and spans six professional hockey teams including teams in the American Hockey League, International Hockey League, ECHL and the NHL. While with the Florida Panthers, Ohrablo led major growth in sponsorship, which contributed to the team being named the 2008 Sports Business Weekly Business Stanley Cup winner.

Ticket Department of the Year (presented by Ticket Galaxy) – Idaho Steelheads
Marketing Department of the Year – Cincinnati Cyclones
Ticket Executive of the Year – Andrew Nawn, Worcester Railers
Sponsorship Sales Executive of the Year – Chris Palin, Florida Everblades
Broadcaster of the Year – Brian McCormack, Idaho Steelheads
Media Relations Director of the Year – Joe Roberts, Kalamazoo Wings
Game Operations – Indy Fuel
Website of the Year – Allen Americans
Social Media – Indy Fuel
Overall Award of Excellence – Toledo Walleye

The annual Welcome Reception and Vendors’ Showcase presented by CCM, which highlighted over 30 companies, provided an opportunity for teams to view products from League vendors and licensees. Timeout Pros and Ticket Galaxy sponsored lunch during the event for attendees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *