Jacksonville Sports Day

Spurrier Inducted Into 2017 College Football Hall of Fame

(FLORIDA SPORTS WIRE) – The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class stands among the greatest of all-time, encompassing 10 First Team All-Americans, three coaches, including former Duke, Florida and South Carolina coach Steve Spurrier, one Campbell Trophy® winner, three unanimous First Team All-Americans, seven consensus First Team All-Americans, five winners of college football major awards, one coach with the highest winning percentage in college football history, the youngest coach to ever win a national title and just the fourth individual to enter the Hall as both a player and a coach.

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame class included:
·         Bob Crable, LB – Notre Dame (1978-81)
·         Marshall Faulk, RB – San Diego State (1991-93)
·         Kirk Gibson, WR – Michigan State (1975-78)
·         Matt Leinart, QB – Southern California (2003-05)
·         Peyton Manning, QB – Tennessee (1994-97)
·         Bob McKay, OT – Texas (1968-69)
·         Dat Nguyen, LB – Texas A&M (1995-98)
·         Adrian Peterson, RB – Georgia Southern (1998-2001)
·         Mike Ruth, NG – Boston College (1982-85)
·         Brian Urlacher, DB – New Mexico (1996-99)
·         Danny Ford, Coach – Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)
·         Larry Kehres, Coach – Mount Union [Ohio] (1986-2012)
·         Steve Spurrier, Coach – Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)

2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class

The 13 members of the 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athletes who will each vie as a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy® as the nation’s top scholar-athlete, boast an astounding 3.76 average GPA. Other class accolades (based on 2016 accomplishments) include nine Academic All-Americans, 12 academic all-conference selections, five All-Americans, nine all-conference players and six school record holders. Each Scholar-Athlete receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship with the Campbell Trophy® honoree claiming a grand total of $25,000.

The 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class/Campbell Trophy® finalists include:
·         Sam Benger, RB – Carnegie Mellon (Pa.)
·         Braxton Berrios, WR – Miami (Fla.)
·         Mason Hampton, C – Boise State
·         Justin Jackson, RB – Northwestern
·         Micah Kiser, LB – Virginia
·         Justin Lea, OL – Jacksonville State
·         Brad Lundblade, C – Oklahoma State
·         Marcus Martin, DE – Slippery Rock (Pa.)
·         Chandon Sullivan, DB – Georgia State
·         Blaise Taylor, CB – Arkansas State
·         Marlon Walls, S – Stephen F. Austin
·         Chris Weber, LB – Nebraska
·         Jake Wieneke, WR – South Dakota State


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *