Jacksonville Sports Day

ECHL: Toledo captures 2016-17 Brabham Cup

PRINCETON, N.J. – The Toledo Walleye clinched the 2016-17 Brabham Cup championship on Saturday by virtue of their 10-0 win over Indy.

With the win, Toledo completes its regular season with a record of 51-17-4 for 106 points. It is the second time in the last three seasons that the Walleye have captured the Brabham Cup and the fourth time a Toledo ECHL team has captured the Brabham Cup as the Toledo Storm won regular-season championships in 1991-92 and 2002-03.

The Walleye’s Central Division championship this season marks the third straight season the club has captured a division title after winning North Division titles each of the previous two seasons.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams.

The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 600 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *