Jacksonville Sports Day

Voice of the Seminoles Gene Deckerhoff Named Nelson Award Winner

The Knoxville(TN) Quarterback Club has named Jacksonville native Gene Deckerhoff the recipient of the 2014 Lindsay Nelson Broadcasting Award. Named after the legendary national sportscaster that began his 50+ year career in the sports broadcasting profession as the Voice of the Tennessee Volunteers in 1948.

The Lindsay Nelson Award has been bestowed by the Knoxville QB Club since 1998 to “broadcasters that exemplify a passion for broadcasting during his or her career”. Gene joins a host of sports broadcasting legends that have received the award in past years, including Keith Jackson, Lee Corso, Larry Munson, Verne Lundquist, Chris Schenkel, Ron Franklin and John Ward.

Gene will accept the award in Knoxville during UT Weekend on April 25.  

Former Head Coach of Appalachian State, Jerry Moore, will be honored as this year’s recipient of the General Robert R. Neyland Trophy, which is presented annually in memory of the Hall of Fame football coach by the Knoxville QB Club to “an outstanding man who has contributed greatly to intercollegiate athletics”.

Previous honorees include Bobby Bowden, John McKay, and Bear Bryant among many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *