Jacksonville Sports Day

COLLEGE BOWL NEWS: PAC 12 has Eight Teams in Bowl Games

SAN FRANCISCO — Pac-12 Champion Oregon (12-1) claims the No. 2 spot in the final College Football Playoff ranking and will head to the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual on Jan. 1, 2015 to face No. 3 Florida State (13-0) in the semifinals of the inaugural College Football Playoff.
No. 10 Arizona (10-3), the Pac-12 South Division Champion, fills one of the four CFP New Year’s bowls and will face No. 20 Boise State (11-2) in the VIZIO Fiesta Bowl on December 31, 2014.
The six remaining bowl-eligible Pac-12 teams were selected to play in the Conference’s contracted bowls. 

No. 14 UCLA (9-3) will face the Big 12’s Kansas State in the Valero Alamo Bowl, No. 24 USC (9-3) will meet the Big Ten’s Nebraska (9-3) in the National University Holiday Bowl.

The Fosters Farm Bowl features another Pac-12-Big Ten matchup with Stanford (7-5) vs. Maryland (7-5), No. 15 Arizona State (9-3) will meet Duke (9-3) from the ACC in the Hyundai Sun Bowl.

No. 22 Utah (8-4) takes on Colorado State (10-2) from the Mountain West Conference in the Royal Purple Las Vegas Bowl, while Washington (8-5) faces the Big 12’s Oklahoma State (6-6) in the TicketCity Cactus Bowl.
“Congratulations to all our Pac-12 teams who qualified for bowl games,” said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. Our conference has never been stronger than it is now. Our eight teams who qualified represent a great period for the Pac‑12 conference in terms of the depth and competitiveness.”
The Pac-12 places eight or more teams into bowl games for the third consecutive season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *