Jacksonville Sports Day

COLLEGE BOWL NEWS: SEC Announces Bowl Games for 12 Schools

By MIKE BONTS
(FLORIDA SPORTS WIRE) –
 

Twelve Southeastern Conference football teams learned their post-season bowl destinations on Sunday. No. 1-ranked Alabama will play No. 4 Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl on the night of January 1 in a semifinal game in the new College Football Playoff structure.

In addition to the debut of the College Football Playoff system, this marks the first year the conference assigned league schools to a “Pool of Six” bowls that include the Outback Bowl in Tampa, the TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville, the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl in Houston, the Belk Bowl in Charlotte and the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis.

On Sunday, the College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games (Allstate Sugar and Rose presented by Northwestern Mutual) and the Fiesta, Chick-fil-A Peach and Goodyear Cotton Bowls while the Capital One Orange Bowl announced its teams.

From the SEC, Mississippi State will play Georgia Tech in the Capital One Orange Bowl and Ole Miss will face TCU in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

Next, the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl selected Missouri from the SEC before the conference assigned teams to the Pool of Six bowls.  The selection process for the Pool of Six bowls was based on preferences expressed by the SEC’s bowl eligible schools, input from the SEC’s affiliated bowls, travel considerations, attention to previous matchups and other pertinent factors.

“The new Pool of Six bowl process gives us the best opportunity to address several issues that impact SEC fans, including the creation of intriguing matchups, the accommodation of travel for fans and a variety of assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.  “We took into account the preferences expressed to us by the participating teams and had conversations with our bowl partners to create a compelling lineup of bowl games featuring SEC teams.”

Auburn will play a Big 10 opponent in the Outback Bowl, Tennessee will meet a Big 10 or ACC opponent in the TaxSlayer Bowl, LSU will play an ACC or Big 10 opponent in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, Arkansas will play a Big 12 opponent in the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl, Georgia will play an ACC opponent in the Belk Bowl and Texas A&M will play a Big 12 opponent in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis.

Following the Pool of Six bowl, the Birmingham Bowl selected Florida and the Duck Commander Independence Bowl in Shreveport chose South Carolina from the SEC.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) – Alabama vs. Ohio State – Jan. 1 – 8:30 pm ET / 7:30 pm CT – ESPN
Capital One Orange Bowl (Miami) – Miss. State vs. Georgia Tech – Dec. 31 – 8 pm ET / 7 pm CT – ESPN
Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (Atlanta) – Ole Miss vs. TCU – Dec. 31 – 12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT – ESPN

SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS:

Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl (Orlando) – Missouri vs. Big 10/ACC opponent – Jan.  1 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ABC

Pool of Six Bowls:

Belk Bowl (Charlotte) – Georgia vs. ACC opponent – Dec. 30 – 6:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm CT – ESPN
Outback Bowl (Tampa) – Auburn vs. Big 10 opponent – Jan. 1 – Noon ET / 11 am CT – ESPN2
TaxSlayer Bowl (Jacksonville) – Tennessee vs. Big 10/ACC opponent – Jan. 2 – 3:20 pm ET / 2:20 pm CT – ESPN
Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville) – LSU vs. ACC/Big 10 opponent – Dec. 30 – 3 pm ET / 2 pm CT – ESPN
AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl (Houston) – Arkansas vs. Big 12 opponent – Dec. 29 – 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT – ESPN
AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis) – Texas A&M vs. Big 12 opponent – Dec. 29 – 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT – ESPN

Additional SEC-Affiliated Bowls:

Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham) – Florida vs. American opponent – Jan. 3 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ESPN/ESPN2
Independence Bowl (Shreveport) – South Carolina vs. ACC – Dec. 27 – 3:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm CT – ABC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *